June 22, 2018

PEGASAS Site Directors lead 2 award winning ACRP Design Teams

The Airport Cooperative Research Program recently announced their 2018 winners of the University Design Competition for Addressing Airport Needs.

Congratulations to Florida Institute of Technology for winning first place in the Runway Safety/Runway Incursions/Runway Excursions Challenge for thier design titled "Airport Runway Incursion Preventative System". The team was advised by PEGASAS Site Director and FIT Professor Dr. Deborah Carstens.

Congratulations are also in order for the Purdue University Team who won first place in the Airport Management and Maintenance Challenge for their design titled "Integrated Technologies to Improve Saftey of Apron Operations: Apron Intelligent Monitoring and Reporting System (AIMRS)". The team was advised by Purdue Polytechnic Professor and PEGASAS Site Director Dr. Mary Johnson.

Honorable Mention was given to a three member Purdue Polytechnic Team for their design titled, "Leveraging Existing Technologies in Order to Create a Resilient Autonomous FOD Detectin System". Dr. Mary Johson also advised this team.

For more information about these award winning designs, please click here